Get uncomfortable being “normal”

In my ventures, I’ve been incredibly blessed to meet and get to know some outstanding individuals, and today’s post was inspired by one of them. My friend Pachet is the type of woman every woman should have in their life- enterprising, creative, intuitive, ground-breaking, and encouraging. If you go to her blog (link at the bottom of this post), you’ll see why I absolutely adore her. In her most recent newsletter, she said that part of mastering your passion is getting uncomfortable being normal- and that really spoke to me. “Normal”… Man, that word is such an enigma to me. I looked it up once, the definition was “conforming to a standard; usual, typical, or expected.” If you really knew me, you’d know that I was never comfortable fitting inside of those lines of what is “normal.” I was the kid who never worried about the consequences of speaking my mind, the teen who would rather spend my weekend in the forest working a Girl Scout event with second graders than hanging at parties with friends my age, and now as an adult, I am drawn to the cooks, the artists, the leaders… people who can’t be “normal” even if they’d want to (and trust me, they don’t). My life is colorful, varied, and full because I know that there is no such thing as “normal”- it’s just an image. I think that once you let go of that image, you start to find the people and the things that light you up. The more you embrace your “weird,” the more authentically you start living. And that my friends, is what it’s all about. I wish I could tell you that my choice to live authentically was this big “ah-HA!” moment, or that I made some incredible choice and transition, or even that It happened as part of a conscious decision. It wasn’t, I didn’t, and there was definitely not just one decision. The only thing that happened is I woke up one day, and realized that no one I had met in over a year knew who I really was… The realization came after I lost a friend I thought was integral for my growth into who I wanted to be- but when she left my life I filled the time I would have spent hanging out with her thinking about the position I inhabited in life (and in case you’re wondering, I was an unemployed college grad, living at home with her parents, no clue about grad school or a career, completely devastated by a loser who chose to treat her as less than she deserved). I realized that not only was I far from where I wanted to be on paper, but I was also leagues away from the type of human I wanted to be… and I was not ok with that at all. When I think of the image of being “normal” I think of trying to blend in and be who you think everyone else expects you to be… which in the short term sense is easier, but in the longer term, it leads you to wake up one day and realize that no one who has met you in over a year knows you. Over a year, you guys. You know how long it took after that realization to start owning exactly who I am? It’s been about two and a half years, and it’s still a daily decision I’m making. You will form your new normal, and it will be beautiful. My comfort zone lies in the uncomfortable now. I am (once again) a “try everything once” kind of woman. I look for and find the beauty in every day, and I am falling deeper and deeper in love with myself every waking moment. My “normal” is pretty fantastic, but it’s so abnormal for others that I am their enigma. I’m pretty ok with that. Not no normally, ~Laura PS- To see the lovely Pachet’s work, click here: http://theenduringmind.com/

Leave a Reply

